A Prayer for the Tired Mom

 

Father give me grace to put my family first.  Help me to love my children in areas where I am quick to criticize.  May creativity bound, safety overflow.  May even the plants and animals be happy in my house.  May I be content with the hidden things in a world that is self-promoting.  What a battle this is for me, God! May I be full of joy and gratitude; the real versions of these.  May I settle for nothing less than wholeness.  Help me to manage the electronics in my life. May I have grace, each day, to be boss over them. Lord have mercy! Help me to listen to my kids, looking into their little eyeballs.  And when I don’t may I be quick to forgive myself and ask for their forgiveness.  Give me grace to be vulnerable.  My children are my “least of these.” Help me to remember that by caring for them, I am ministering to you, Jesus, each day. And last but not least, help me to remember that you are the best Parent for my kids.  You’ve got this! All of this! Amen.

6 thoughts on “A Prayer for the Tired Mom

  1. I got to read your prayer first thing this morning and wow it was powerful. I’m so glad you got to back it up and tell me your heart behind it last night. My heart hurts just thinking through it, which I feel like these days that it is a good indication that God is wanting to work, wanting to put his hands on us. I had a visual image while praying of God putting His heavy hand on us like all of us mommas do when we used to put our babies or toddlers down for a nap and they needed a heavy hand on their chest in order to be still and fall asleep. I still do it to Liza.

    Like

  2. Natalee,
    I’ll be printing this out and putting it on my mirror.

    Abba, thank you for raising us, just as You raise our children.

    Like

Leave a comment