ripple

Did he become my sin on the cross?  As in, He pushed me aside and became that person that I loathe that lives and rages inside of me.  Did he become obsessed with myself, during that time when He took on my sin?  Did He become that selfish person that I know so well? Could it be true that I in all of my gore died with Him? When I look at this cross, He is looking at me.  Those eyes.  If only I could see those eyes, like oceans and muddy puddles and lakes and cosmos.

Like, He said, “I will be you.  Step aside.  This is not for you to bear.  I must become you.

So that you can have my story. So that you can be you.  So that you can light things up, unaware, everywhere you go.

So that they can see their story up there with me, their trauma, their monsters too. I became them too.”

The holiness, the justice, the beauty, the worship, the gravity.  Oh that I knew another language right now.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “ripple

  1. Natalee, these are beautiful words. I have never thought of Jesus becoming obsessed with me in the way that I’m obsessed with me, but that was part of him taking my sin. Thank you for helping me see that tonight. I love reading your stuff 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment